6th Euro-Asia Zeolite Conference

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Sofía Calero
Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Tentative title of the lecture:
Inventing materials to meet today's energy and environmental challenges
Sofía Calero studied Physical Chemistry at University Complutense of Madrid, where she received her MSc degree (1995) and obtained her PhD (2000). From 2001 to 2003 she was a postdoctoral researcher as a Marie Curie Fellow in the Chemical Engineering Department of the University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands. In 2004 she moved to the University Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain as Ramon y Cajal Fellow (2004), Profesor Contratado Doctor (2006), Profesor Titular de Universidad (2009) and Catedrático de Universidad (2017). In 2020 she was appointed full Professor and chair Materials Simulation & Modelling at the department of Applied Physics, at Eindhoven University of Technology (the Netherlands) and in September 2022 vice Dean of the Department of Applied Physics and Science Education. Calero received several grants and awards, including the Marie Curie Excellence Award, ERC Consolidator Grant, Salvador de Madariaga Grant, Dutch VPP-KNAW grant, Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry awards for Young Researchers and later on for Scientific Excellence and the Irene Curie Grant. Her research involves the application of molecular simulation to industrially relevant systems and the development of force fields, algorithms and simulation methods to reverse-engineer properties of porous materials.

Prof. Minkee Choi
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

Tentative title of the lecture:
Hierarchical LTL Zeolite as an Efficient Solid Acid Catalyst for Replacing HCl in the Production of Polyurethane Intermediates
Minkee Choi studied chemistry and received his B.S., M.S., and PhD degrees in Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) under the supervision of Prof. Ryong Ryoo. Then, he joined the group of Prof. Enrique Iglesia in the Department of Chemical Engineering, UC Berkeley as a postdoctoral research fellow. After 2 yr postdoctoral experience, he joined the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, KAIST as a faculty member (December, 2010). He is currently a full professor in the same department. His research interests are the design of porous materials for various adsorption and catalytic applications, including zeolites, carbons, polymers, and their composite materials. In 2021, he won the ‘National Young Scientist Award’ given by the President of the Republic of Korea.

Dr. Chularat Wattanakit
Vidyasirimedhi Institute of Science and Technology, Thailand

Tentative title of the lecture:
State-of-the-art hierarchical zeolites for the catalytic conversion of bioethanol to fine chemicals and carbon-based materials
Chularat Wattanakit is currently an Associate Professor at VISTEC. She received a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry under the joint program between Kasetsart University and the University of Bordeaux in 2013. Then, she was a postdoctoral researcher at Nagoya University and worked as a researcher for SCG Chemicals Co., Ltd. Since 2015, she has served as a faculty member at VISTEC. She received the Thailand Young Scientist Award by the Foundation for the Promotion of Science and Technology under the Patronage of His Majesty the King and the L'Oreal-UNESCO Fellowship for Women in Science in Physical Science 2018. In addition, she was also awarded with the Distinguished Lectureship 2020 by the Chemical Society of Japan and the Distinguished Young Chemist Award 2020 by the Chemical Society of Thailand (CST). Recently, she received the Tremplin Prize 2023 for bilateral cooperation between French and ASEAN researchers. Her research interests relate to heterogeneous catalysis and electrocatalysis.

Dr. Lukáš Palatinus
Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

Tentative title of the lecture:
Crystal structure determination from microcrystalline materials by 3D electron diffraction
Lukáš Palatinus studied mineralogy and geochemistry at the Charles University in Prague. During his PhD. at the University Bayreuth, Germany, he focused on the crystallographic analysis of modulated structures. Later, during the post-doc stay at EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland, he developed the program Superflip for the solution of the crystallographic phase problem for periodic and aperiodic crystals, using iterative dual space algorithms.
Since 2009, Dr. Palatinus is the head of the Group of electron crystallography at the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences in Prague. His research concentrates on developing methods for crystal structure analysis from electron diffraction data, with the main focus on the structure refinement from 3D electron diffraction using the dynamical diffraction theory.